Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Clitheroe Football Club app


Clitheroe - Match centre

adidas lockerroom
Farsley AFC
Tue 14 Apr 19:45 - The Evo-Stik League Northern Premier - First Division North Full time Attendance 204

Clitheroe 0 Farsley AFC 0

The Blues and Farsley played out a goalless draw at Shawbridge, the first 0-0 draw involving the Blues since April 2013.

Two changes from the team that lost narrowly at Salford City, saw Roberto Bonaminio return from suspension replacing Laquan Esdaille and James Walker replaced Richard Burns and played up front just behind Sefton Gonzales.

The match which started in glorious spring sunshine was slow to get going, with the first real attempt at goal not coming until the 26th minute. That went to the visitors from Robbie O'Brien who hit a low shot which Callum Jakovlevs saved comfortably.

The Blues first chance came a minute later when James Walker's initial shot was blocked and the ball rebounded to Roberto Bonaminio, whose shot hit the side netting.

A blow for the Blues on the half hour when Danny Morton was injured following a crunching tackle. Despite treatment and limping on for a few minutes, he was eventually replaced by Laquan Esdaille.

The Blues had a good spell of possession before the interval. On 35 minutes a long free kick found Walker who hit an acrobatic first time volley just over the bar. Shortly afterwards Joey Mullen had a shot saved by Farsley keeper Tom Taylor, only for the rebound to fall to Walker and his shot was blocked by a defender.

On 40 minutes, Ross Dent had a good opportunity, but his shot went over the top.

Half Time 0-0.

On 50 minutes, Jack Hargreaves became the fourth member of the Youth squad to make a first team appearance replacing Seydou Bamba on the left of midfield.

A free kick swung in by Walker on 56 minutes saw Taylor punch the ball away under pressure from Danny Brady and the Farsley defence cleared the ball away.

A spate of bookings saw Farsley's Ross Daly, Danny Brady and Roberto Bonaminio all cautioned by the referee as the game became scrappy for a while.

David Lynch came mighty close to giving the Blues the lead on 65 minutes, when the skipper hit a screamer form 25 yards, which Taylor did very well to push away for a corner.

Richard Burns replaced Sefton Gonzales on 70 minutes, Burns had a good opportunity within a minute of coming on, but couldn't get his shot on target after getting round a defender.

Ross Dent and Joey Mullen both had good opportunities but it was Farsley who finished the stronger team. Their best chance of the game came in the 89th minute when Jakovlevs made a magnificent save with his legs after Aiden Savory was left with only the keeper to beat.

So the game ended goalless and it ensured the Blues first clean sheet in the league for seventeen games. Also it was the first 0-0 scoreline since the home draw with New Mills on 27 April 2013.

Clitheroe: Callum Jakovlevs, Danny Morton (Laquan Esdaille 39), Ryan Cattermole, Roberto Bonaminio, Danny Brady, Ross Dent, Joey Mullen, David Lynch. Sefton Gonzales (Richard Burns 70), James Walker, Seydou Bamba (Jack Hargreaves 50). Subs not used, Robbie Bromley & Simon Garner.

Farsley: Tom Taylor, Michael Aspin, Josh Grant, Robbie O'Brien, Ryan Serrant, Alex McQuade, Lewis Nightingale, Ross Daly, Kyle Hancock (Jamie Tonkinson 86), Aiden Savory, Andy Welsh (Oliver Daley 75). Subs not used, Danny Ward & Jake Lofthouse.

Attendance 204
Referee P.Kettlewell

Look the part with adidas Locker Room

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.

League round up

Other First Division North results

Scarborough Athletic
Kendal Town
Northwich Victoria

League table

# Team Pl Pts
11. Lancaster City 42 62
12. Farsley AFC 42 61
13. Clitheroe 42 52
14. Brighouse Town 42 51
15. Burscough 42 48
16. Kendal Town 42 46
17. Ossett Albion 42 43

Team sponsors


Club sponsors